Monday, 3 October 2011

MAD Blog Awards

On Friday night, I was fortunate enough to attend the MAD blog awards. Over 50,000 nominations and votes were made for the MAD blog awards and over 2 million views of the #madblogawards hashtag were made on Friday night, proving that this indeed was one of the highlights of the blogging calendar. I felt extremely lucky to have won my ticket by entering a competition on the MADS website and was excited to find out what the MAD awards were all about.

I must admit that once I arrived, me and my new little blog didn't feel worthy to be in a room of 70 of the UK's supreme bloggers. I felt distinctly overwhelmed and over awed and even secretly plotted my escape route in my head at one point. Luckily though, I soon found that the MADS finalists were very adept at small talk and also very friendly and approachable. I soon struck up conversation with many lovely bloggers including Kylie from Not even a bag of sugar, Luschka from Diary of a First Child, Tom from Diary of the Dad and the lovely Donna and Elizabeth from Mummy Central, who travelled all the way from Scotland to attend the event.

The night was held at The Talk Talk Experience Centre in Soho, London and was absolutely fantastic. I had a fab time and thanks to Sally and the Mad Blog Awards team for providing gold tickets to such a lovely event.

If you missed the MAD blog awards action, then you can read about the night on the live blog feed here. Congratulations to all of the very worthy winners and congratulations to all of the finalists for being nominated so highly too. Here is a list of the winners on the night. I would encourage you to visit their blogs and see what they have to offer:

Best MAD Baby Blog
Diary of the Dad Tom (@tombriggs79) writes about life with his first child and announced that number 2 is on the way as he accepted his award.

Best MAD Blog of the Year
The Imagination Tree A blog by Anna (@imaginationtree) about creative preschool play - lots of fab ideas.
Most MAD Family Life Blog
Northern Mum A Northern Mum with southern children, Jane (@northernmum1) blogs about parenting and family life.
Best MAD Craft Blog
Red Ted Art A great blog with lots of craft ideas by Maggie (@RedTedArt).
Best MAD Blog for Family Fun
A Mother’s Ramblings Written by the lovely Pippa’s (@pippad) who is extremely lovely and friendly.
Best Pregnancy Blog
Is There a Plan B Apparently in blogging, yes there is - in the shape of writing an award winning pregnancy blog!
Best MAD Food Blogger
Cooking, Cakes and Children Amy (@amylane) bakes delicious cakes which look really tasty.
Most Innovative MAD Blog
Geek Mummy Ruth (@geekmummy) blogs about all things geek and can typically be found with a camera in her hand.
Most Inspiring MAD Blogger
A Boy with Asperger’s Claire Louise's (@clairelouise82)  frank description of life living with an autistic child.
Best New MAD Blog
Mammy Woo  Lexy (@mammywoo) blogs about developing postnatal depression after the birth of her son.
Best MAD Blog Photography
Tales from the Village Written by Rachael (@karamina).
Best Pre-School Fun MAD Blog
Best MAD Small Business Blog
The Mummy Whisperer  Lisa (@mummywhisperer), shares her wisdom on parenting and organising your life.
Best MAD Blog Writer
More Than Just a Mother Extreme parenting advice from Emily (@mtjam).
MAD Blog Post of the Year
Carol from Dance without sleeping.

1 comment :

  1. what a great round up. Lucky you to have made the party. Where is photo of you in your finery? ! x



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...